Tordin’s rookie of the year award leads Tigers’ All-Ivy honors

Pietra Tordin led the Princeton women’s soccer team in scoring for the 2022 season, and Ivy League coaches recognized her as the Ivy League Rookie of the Year when the league’s annual honors were announced Wednesday.

Tordin is the sixth Ivy Rookie of the Year in program history and the first since Mimi Asom ’19 in 2015.

Tordin’s eight goals during the season, which she scored in seven games, led the team and made her the first rookie to lead Princeton in goals scored since 2013, when Tyler Lussi ’17 l ‘did. Tordin’s 19 points were also the team’s best total. While playing in all 17 games for the season, Tordin made nine starts, including six of the team’s last seven games.

Second year Lily Bryant represented Princeton in the All-Ivy League first team after the midfielder played in all 17 games, starting 16, with seven points on one goal and five assists.

Tordin was one of two second-team All-Ivy Tigers with the sophomore backliner Ryan Brown, who has made 12 starts in the 13 games she has played. Princeton has held opponents to 1.35 goals per game this season, posting six shutouts.

second striker Heather MacNabjunior midfielder Aria Nagaiand senior midfielder Grace Sherman were honorable mention All-Ivy. MacNab played in all 17 games and made 16 starts, ranking second on the team with six goals and 14 points. Nagai also played in all 17 games, made 12 starts and scored one goal, and Sherman finished with six points on two goals and two assists while playing in all 17 games with 16 starts.

Nagai is the only Tiger among the current winners to have previously earned All-Ivy recognition, having been named to the All-Ivy second team in 2021.

senior goalkeeper Ella Gantman, a student at the Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, was Princeton’s recipient for All-Ivy Academic Recognition. Gantman shared time in goal with the second Tyler McCameymaking seven starts in eight games with a 4-1 record and a 1.80 goals-against average.

2022 Ivy League winners:

Brittany Rapino
Brown (Sr., F – Randolph, Mass.)

jade rose
Harvard (So., D – Markham, Ontario)


Pietra TordinPrinceton (Fr., F – Doral, Florida)

Sarah Martinez

*Kayla Duran, Brown (Sr., D – Woburn, Mass.)
*Brittany Raphino, Brown (Sr., F – Randolph, Mass.)
*Hannah Bebar, Harvard (So., M – Naperville, Ill.)
Charlotte Cyr, Dartmouth (Sr., GK – Wethersfield, Conn.)
Courtney Ruedt, Columbia (So., D – Wayne, NJ)
Jade Rose, Harvard (So., D – Markham, Ont.)
Laila Booker, Yale (So., D – Potomac, Md.)
Sophie Hirst, Harvard (Sr., M – Seattle, Washington)

Lily BryantPrinceton (So., M – Brookline, Mass.)
Ava Seelenfreund, Brown (Sr., F – Truckee, CA)
Allie Winstanley, Dartmouth (Sr., F – Concord, Mass.)

Marisa Shorrock, Yale (Jr., GK – Westport, Connecticut)
Cecily Pokigo, Cornell (So., D – Middle River, Maryland)
Ginger Fontenot, Penn (Jr., D – Camarillo, CA)

Ryan BrownPrinceton (So., D – Laguna Niguel, CA)
Ania Prussak, Colombia (So., M – Glen Ridge, NJ)
Reagan Pauwels, Cornell (Jr., M – Wall, NJ)
Josefine Hasbo, Harvard (So., M – Runstad Kyst, Denmark)
Sizzy Lawton, Penn (Sr., M – Fort Washington, PA)
Rebeka Róth, Yale (So., M – Budapest, Hungary)
Ainsley Ahmadian, Harvard (So., F – Chicago, IL)

Pietra TordinPrinceton (Fr., F – Doral, Florida)

Sheyenne Allen, Brown (Sr., M – Bear, Del.)
Naya Cardoza, Brown (Fr., D – Ajax, Ontario)
Jessica Hinton, Brown (Jr., D – Middletown, Connecticut)
Isabella Schopp, Brown (Fr., GK – Hinsdale, IL)
Maia Tabion, Colombia (Fr., F – Sammamish, Washington)
Sara DeGraw, Cornell (Sr., D – Rye, NY)
Mary Lundregan, Dartmouth (Fr., D – Fairfield, Conn.)
Hannah Griffin, Harvard (Sr., F – Schuttrange, Luxembourg)
Laurence Gladu, Penn (Jr., GK – Longueuil, Quebec)

Heather MacNabPrinceton (So., F – Indianapolis, Ind.)

Aria NagaiPrinceton (Jr., M – Herndon, Va.)

Grace ShermanPrinceton (Sr., M – Potomac, Maryland)
Marz Akins, Yale (So., D – San Diego, Calif.)

*Unanimous selection

Comments are closed.