Thailand eases COVID-19 restrictions nationwide, allowing Songkran 2022 festivities

The latest announcement from the Royal Thai Government eased COVID-19 restrictions across the country from April 1, 2022, while allowing Songkran festivities to be held under strict health and safety standards.

Published in the Royal Thai Government Gazette on March 30, 2022, the announcement increased the designation of “blue zone” provinces from 8 to 10 and maintained another 16 provinces with “blue zone” districts. Areas under strict surveillance or yellow area have been increased from 25 to 47 provinces, while controlled areas or orange area have been adjusted from 44 to 22 provinces. In the meantime, the emergency decree has been extended for the seventeenth time until May 31, 2022.

For international travelers planning to travel to Thailand during this time, please visit for more information on the three main entry programs.

Guidelines for Songkran 2022 Festivities

While allowing Songkran 2022 festivities to be held under universal prevention and COVID-free setting guidelines, the government has advised all those planning to enjoy the Thai New Year to get fully vaccinated and undergo an auto-ATK at least 72 hours before joining group activities.

Activities should focus on the traditional and cultural aspects of the celebration; such as Song Nam Phra (a ritual of pouring scented water over sacred Buddha images in a temple), Rot Nam Dam Hua (a ritual where young people prepare jasmine water and Nam Op scented water with which to wash their parents or the hands of the elders to ask for the blessing), the traditional performances and processions and the musical performances.

Water splashing, powder splashing and foam parties are prohibited in both Songkran venues and public areas. The sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages is also prohibited at the venue.

10 “Blue Zone” Provinces + 16 Provinces with “Blue Zone” Districts

All businesses and activities in the blue zone provinces/districts can resume their “new normal” operations under strict health and safety standards.

Central region: bangkokand Ayutthaya (Mueang District only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern Region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chonburi, Rayong (Ko Samet only), and Trat (Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts only).

North East Region: Buri Aries (Mueang District only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, Wiang Kao and Ubolratana districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan District only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Districts of Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio and Wang Nam Khiao), Nong Khai (Mueang, Sangkhom, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udonthani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom and Nong Han districts only).

North region: Chiang Maiand Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen and Wiang Pa Pao districts only).

South Region: Krabi, Phangnga, Phuket, Ranong (Koh Phayam only), and Suratthani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan and Ko Tao only).

47 provinces Areas under strict surveillance or yellow zone

Almost all businesses and activities in the yellow zone provinces can also resume their “New Normal” operations. Meetings, events and fairs can also be organized with a maximum number of participants of 1,000.

Central region: Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Lop Buri, Samut Songkhram, Saraburi, Sing Buri and Suphan Buri.

Eastern region: Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi*, Prachin Buri, Sa Kaeo and Trat*.

North East Region: Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Chaiyaphum, Loei*Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Nong Khai*Kalasin, Khon Kaen*King Et, Sakhon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin*Ubon Ratchathani and Yasothon.

North region: Chiang Rai*Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nan, Nakhon Sawan, Phayao, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phetchabun, Phrae, Sukhothai, Uthai Thani and Uttaradit.

South Region: Chumphon, Narathiwat, Pattani, Satun, Trang and Yala.

20 controlled areas or orange zone provinces

Malls, markets, convenience stores and movie theaters can resume “New Normal” operations in a COVID-free setting. Amusement parks and water parks in malls, department stores, malls and other similar venues may open take-over operations for outdoor facilities.

Restaurants and eateries in orange zone provinces can resume normal business hours, but will not be allowed to serve alcoholic beverages to restaurant patrons. This measure applies to all restaurants and eateries, whether stand-alone or located in malls, department stores, community malls and similar locations.

Meetings and events in hotels, malls, convention halls and similar venues can be held for less than 1,000 attendees

Beauty and aesthetic clinics, hair salons and barbershops, tattoo shops, massage and spa shops and traditional Thai massage shops can open until 24:00.

Central region: Ayutthaya*Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Prachuap Khiri Khan*Ratchaburi, Samut Prakan*, and Samut Sakhon.

Eastern Region: Ray*

North East Region: Buri Ram*, Nakhon Ratchasima*and Udonthani*.

North region: tak.

South Region: Nakhon Si Thammarat, Phattalung, Ranong*, Songkhla, and Suratthani*.

*Except for areas designated as “Blue Zone” pilot tourist destinations.

The TAT Newsroom will provide an update via as soon as official information becomes available.

For more information on entering Thai programs, please visit:

Learn more here

Comments are closed.